Scavenge

From Judge Wiki (English)
Jump to: navigation, search

Scavenge is an activated ability introduced in Return to Ravnica. It appears in abilities of cards bearing the Golgari watermark.

702.95. Overload
702.95a Overload is a keyword that represents two static abilities that function while the spell with overload is on the stack. Overload [cost] means “You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s overload cost, change its text by replacing all instances of the word ‘target’ with the word ‘each.’” Using the overload ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e–g.
702.95b If a player chooses to pay the overload cost of a spell, that spell won’t require any targets. It may affect objects that couldn’t be chosen as legal targets if the spell were cast without its overload cost being paid.
702.95c Overload’s second ability creates a text-changing effect. See rule 612, “Text-Changing Effects.”

Rulings

  • Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it’s too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.

See Also

Personal tools