Week 9 Practice Test
Judge Classes Week 9 Test
1. AJ has a Bear Cub with Aqueous Form attached. He attacks with it, and in his second main phase realizes he missed his trigger. The opponent noticed he missed the trigger but did not say anything. How do you handle this? Did the opponent do anything wrong?
2. Audrey casts Supreme Verdict using only white mana. Both Audrey and Natalie put some creatures into the graveyard. Audrey passes the turn, and on Natalie's draw step after Natalie drew a card Audrey realizes her mistake and calls you over. How do you fix this situation?
3. While resolving Divination, Artemis accidentally put 3 cards in hand instead of 2. How do you handle this when the opponent calls you over?
4. Ajani and Nicol are going to time in a match. Ajani asks Nicol if they'd just like to roll a die to see who wins so no one gets a draw, which Nicol agrees to. A spectator calls you over and explains what happens. What do you do, if anything?
5. Arthur is 12 minutes late to his match, but wants to play. What do you tell Arthur? Do you let him play?
6. While Scrying 2, Anderson accidentally looks at and begins reordering the top 3 cards of his library. How is this resolved?
7. Andy casts Unsummon on Nate's Bear Cub. Nate put the card into his graveyard, thinking the Unsummon was a Doom Blade. A turn later, the players realize the error and call you over. Andy says that he noticed the error when Unsummon resolved, but didn't want to say anything as this way Nate couldn't replay the Bear Cub. How do you handle this?
8. An Abacus mulligans its opening hand, drawing 6 cards. Upon inspecting its opening hand, the inanimate object realized it accidentally drew 7. How is it handled? After handling the problem, can the abacus continue to mulligan?
9. Allison has Aerie Worshippers on the battlefield and it untapped this turn. During her upkeep, she never mentioned the trigger and moved to her draw step where she drew a card. After that, she realizes she missed her trigger and calls you over. How do you handle this?
10. Avery casts Pacifism on Natasha's Black Knight. After three turns of many plays and card draws, they realized it was illegal to target the Black Knight with Pacifism. How do you handle this situation?
1. Since AJ noticed the trigger within a reasonable time frame, and it is not disruptive to put it on the stack now, we put it on the stack and resolve it. At all tournament levels, it is OK for the opponent to ignore their opponent's triggers. The opponent has done nothing wrong.
2. As not too much has happened after the illegally cast Supreme Verdict, we can safely rewind this situation. Since we don't know what card Natalie drew, we take one at random from her hand and put it on top of the library. We then put all creatures killed by Supreme Verdict back on the battlefield, and put the Verdict back in Audrey's hand. Play continues from this point.
3. Since the identity of the extra card drawn was not known to all players, we choose a card at random from Artemis's hand and put it on top of his library.
4. Deciding a game of Magic using any means other than the game of Magic is a Serious Problem and the two players are disqualified. Try to educate them on why this is an issue, and don't forget to get their story. Your Regional Coordinator may need to help you through the disqualification process.
5. After being 10 minutes late, Arthur has forfeited the match. He may continue playing in the tournament after this point if he wishes.
6. We take one of the three cards Anderson is looking at at random and shuffle it into his library. If he has scryed before, we make sure to keep the known portion of the library (the bottom) in the order it was already in.
7. Andy saw a problem happen, knew it was a problem, and did not call a judge. This is cheating and is a Serious Problem. Andy will be disqualified.
8. For the animate abacus, we will take one card at random from their new hand of 7 and shuffle it back into their library. They may continue mulliganing from this point if they like.
9. As this is a "may" trigger we assume Allison chose not to do it during her upkeep. There is no problem, we proceed playing.
10. Although too much has happened to rewind the game to the point of the error, we still clean up anything illegal. In this case, a Pacifism on a Black Knight is illegal so we put it in Avery's graveyard and continue play from this point.